Justin Riegel, PGA, Becomes Namesake of Philadelphia PGA Assistant Golf Professional of the Year Award

Lower Gwynedd Township, Pa. (January 11, 2021) — The Philadelphia PGA Section today announced that it has renamed the award given to superlative PGA Assistant Professionals to the Justin Riegel Assistant Golf Professional of the Year. The award recognizes an individual who has displayed the qualities and attributes for what it takes to become an outstanding PGA Professional. Its new namesake, Justin Riegel, the 2015 recipient of the award, tragically passed away in a related accident in June 2020 while working as PGA Head Professional at Philmont Country Club in Huntingdon Valley, Pa.

“The Philadelphia PGA and its nearly 900 men and women PGA Professionals are still mourning the loss of Justin, who left us much too soon,” said Section Executive Director Geoff Surrette, PGA. “He was a wonderful PGA Professional, but was an even better partner, son, and friend. While we will never be able to fill the void left after Justin’s untimely death, we hope this award will honor his name and legacy for future generations of PGA Professionals.”

Justin’s family, including his mother Evette and girlfriend Kate, gave the Section their blessing to rename the award: “It is with genuine gratitude and bittersweet hearts that we, his family, accept this honor on Justin’s behalf. Thank you for celebrating his memory and commitment to the sport. He always encouraged excellence, while eager to share his knowledge and skills. Thank you for providing a way that his life long passion will carry on through his recognition.”

A GoFundMe campaign has been launched to help support Justin and Kate’s newborn son Harrison Kelly. You may access it by clicking here.

Justin Riegel PGA Assistant Golf Professional of the Year Recipients

2020: Ron Pine, PGA
2019: Steve Frederick, PGA
2018: Ashley Grier, PGA
2017: Dan Mrozinski, PGA
2016: Bryan Kienke, PGA
2015: Justin Riegel, PGA
2014: Sean Palmer, PGA
2013: Ben Debski, PGA
2012: Mark Kelly, PGA
2011: Jeff Breiner, PGA
2010: Joey Pohle, PGA
2009: Rob Agresti, PGA
2008: Tom Byrne, PGA
2007: Ed Gibson, PGA
2006: Andy Watters, PGA
2005: Jack Sodoma, PGA
2004: Rich Steinmetz, PGA
2003: Andy Watters, PGA
2002: Jonathan Doctor, PGA
2002: Jamie Komancheck, PGA
2001: Brian Lee, PGA
2000: Andy Hinson, PGA
1999: Jamie Komancheck, PGA
1998: Eric Korpics, PGA

About the Philadelphia PGA Section
The Philadelphia PGA Section, covering eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey and Delaware, is one of 41 geographical managing entities of the PGA of America. This Section manages nearly 900 PGA Members and Associates who are employed at over 590 golf facilities in our region. Founded in 1921, the Section celebrates its centennial in 2021.

Contact: Matt Frey, PGA, Communications Director, Philadelphia PGA Section,