Steinmetz Returns to Winner’s Circle at Doylestown Open

DOYLESTOWN, Pa. – On Friday, July 29 the annual Doylestown Open was played at Doylestown Country Club, which in 2016 is celebrating its centennial. The field was comprised of 75 Philadelphia PGA professionals and 4 amateur golfers. The heavy rains that plagued the area throughout the day Thursday and into the morning Friday cleared out and paved the way for a great tournament.

Playing early in the day Rich Steinmetz set the pace for the rest of the field. Steinmetz made his way around the 6,600 yards long golf course at 5-under-par (67). Steinmetz posted three birdies and a bogey on his opening nine holes. However, as he played the inward nine, Steinmetz played bogey-free adding three additional birdies to post the impressive score.

It would not be until late in the day that anyone would make a run at the top of the leaderboard and Steinmetz. The first player to try and catch Steinmetz was Stu Ingraham (M Golf Range) who carded a 4-under-par (68). Ingraham was in prime position until an untimely bogey on the par3 17th hole dropped him from contention. The next player to try and catch Steinmetz was Greg Matthias (Tavistock Country Club). After carding three birdies, three bogeys, and three pars on the outward nine, Matthias was able to right the ship and post four birdies on the closing holes. However, no player after Matthias was able to reach the top of the leaderboard meaning Steinmetz was crowned champion.

The win was a bit of redemption for Steinmetz who came up just one shot short in 2015 to eventual champion Dave Quinn (Links Golf Club). It also marks a return to the winner’s circle for Steinmetz who last won a Philadelphia PGA in 2014 at The TaylorMade Top 100. Steinmetz is also a repeat Doylestown Open champion having won the event in 2007.

Although he came up just short, Ingraham did manage to walk away with the trophy in the senior division. Ingraham finished three shots ahead of his closest competitor John Allen (Huntingdon Valley Country Club). The win was Ingraham’s fourth senior win of the 2016 season and adds to his lead in the Robert “Skee” Riegel Senior Player of the Year standings.

In the race for the amateur title Rob Bass came out on top. Bass carded a 5-over-par (77) to win the amateur division by one shot. Finishing just behind was Frank Howell and Ryan Rigby who both finished at 6-over-par (78). Howell was the amateur champion in the 2015 Doylestown Open.

The Section would like to thank the membership and staff of Doylestown Country Club and Kevin McClellan, Cutter & Buck and Heritage Creations for their support of this event.

Doylestown Open

Jul 29, 2016
Individual Stroke Play Media Results

 1   Rich Steinmetz      Spring Ford CC             34-33--67 -5  
 T2  Stu Ingraham        M Golf Range               34-34--68 -4  
 T2  Greg Matthias       Tavistock CC               36-32--68 -4  
 4   Michael Little      Lookaway GC                35-34--69 -3  
 T5  Trevor Bensel       Huntingdon Valley CC       37-33--70 -2  
 T5  Eric Kennedy        Overbrook GC               35-35--70 -2  
 T5  Shawn Matthews      Huntingdon Valley CC       34-36--70 -2  
 T8  John Spina          Philadelphia Cricket Club  35-36--71 -1  
 T8  John Allen          Huntingdon Valley CC       35-36--71 -1  
 T8  Bill Walker         Riverton CC                37-34--71 -1  
 T8  Jordan Gibbs        Gulph Mills GC             37-34--71 -1  
 T8  Kevin Kraft         Bumble Bee Hollow          35-36--71 -1  
 T8  Curtis Kirkpatrick  Indian Springs GC          37-34--71 -1  
 T8  Mike Furey          Mahoning Valley CC         36-35--71 -1  
 T15 Don Allan           Burlington CC              35-37--72 E   
 T15 Eric Figueroa       McCall Golf & CC           36-36--72 E   
 T15 George Forster      Radnor Valley CC           34-38--72 E   
 T15 Mark Anderson       Philadelphia Cricket Club  38-34--72 E   
 T15 Dave Quinn          Links GC                   36-36--72 E   
 T15 John Lynch          Cripple Creek              37-35--72 E   
 T15 Pat Butkus          Philadelphia CC            37-35--72 E   
 T15 Alex Knoll          Bethlehem GC- Monacacy     34-38--72 E   
 T23 John Appleget       Wildwood Golf & CC         38-35--73 +1  
 T23 Rick Flesher        Applebrook GC              38-35--73 +1  
 T23 Ken Dixon           Chester Valley GC          36-37--73 +1  
 T23 Greyson Rossi       Bayside Resort             36-37--73 +1  
 T23 Greg Farrow         Deerwood CC                39-34--73 +1  
 T28 Hugo Mazzalupi      Patriots Glen National GC  37-37--74 +2  
 T28 Mike Meisenzahl     Shore Gate CC              38-36--74 +2  
 T28 Anthony Napoletano  GolfTEC-KoP                35-39--74 +2  
 T28 Jeff Fick           Chapel Hill GC             36-38--74 +2  
 T28 Mike Paukovits      St. Davids GC              37-37--74 +2  
 T33 Eric McNamee        Golf Galaxy - Montgomery   38-37--75 +3  
 T33 Bill Sautter        Philadelphia Cricket Club  38-37--75 +3  
 T33 Don DeAngelis       Squires GC                 37-38--75 +3  
 T33 John Kellogg        Radley Run CC              38-37--75 +3  
 T33 Michael Ferguson    Philadelphia Cricket Club  36-39--75 +3  
 T33 Ryan Shaughnessy    Wedgewood Golf Course      38-37--75 +3  
 T33 Dave Pagett         Whitemarsh Valley CC       38-37--75 +3  
 T40 Joe Kogelman        GolfTEC Moorestown         41-35--76 +4  
 T40 Jordan Shuey        Blue Ridge CC              40-36--76 +4  
 T40 Bob Hennefer        Indian Springs GC          37-39--76 +4  
 T40 Andy Watters        Talamore Country Club      35-41--76 +4  
 T44 Mike Moses          Concord CC                 34-43--77 +5  
 T44 Eric Schultz        Sunnybrook GC              40-37--77 +5  
 T44 Gary Hardin         Northampton CC             38-39--77 +5  
 T44 Rob Bass (a)        Whitemarsh Valley CC       40-37--77 +5  
 T44 Nick Gorman         GolfTEC Moorestown         39-38--77 +5  
 T44 Ashley Grier        Overbrook GC               38-39--77 +5  
 T44 Barry Dear          Twisted Dune               38-39--77 +5  
 T44 Brian Hollins       Trenton CC                 38-39--77 +5  
 T44 Ben Debski          The Springhaven Club       39-38--77 +5  
 T53 Eddie Perrino       Eagle Rock Resort          37-41--78 +6  
 T53 Mike Heidler        GolfTEC Mainline           38-40--78 +6  
 T53 Cavan Birmingham    Fox Meadow GC              40-38--78 +6  
 T53 Jim Parella         Blue Bell CC               40-38--78 +6  
 T53 Frank Howell (a)    Doylestown CC              39-39--78 +6  
 T53 Ryan Rigby (a)      Doylestown CC              38-40--78 +6  
 T59 Brian Trymbiski (a)                            41-38--79 +7  
 T59 Ed Gibson           Makefield Highlands GC     40-39--79 +7  
 T59 Dustin McCormick    Glen Brook GC              41-38--79 +7  
 T62 Jason Calhoun       LaSalle University         40-40--80 +8  
 T62 Wes Hollis          Patriots Glen National GC  40-40--80 +8  
 T64 Mike Wood           Saucon Valley CC           42-39--81 +9  
 T64 Frank Bianco        Crossgates                 42-39--81 +9  
 T64 Dan Marz            Huntingdon Valley CC       45-36--81 +9  
 67  Kevin Rossi         Lookaway GC                43-39--82 +10 
 68  Kevin Duffy         Riverton CC                43-42--85 +13 
 69  Ian Dalzell         Huntingdon Valley CC       43-43--86 +14 
 70  Bill Smith          Mahoning Valley CC         46-41--87 +15 
 71  Tony Shields        ACE Club                   46-44--90 +18