Tournament’s Last Group Claims First Spot at NCR Pro-Scratch Championship

Malvern, Pa. – On another summer day worthy of a postcard, the National Car Rental Pro-Scratch Championship was played at Applebrook Golf Club. This annual event pairs one PGA Professional with one amateur golfer in a better ball of partners event.

Playing in the tournament’s first group, the team of John Lynch (Cripple Creek Country Club) and his partner Jay Whitby, two-time defending champions, put up an intimidating number for the rest of the field to try and beat. Lynch and Whitby carded a team score of 6-under-par (65). The duo made their way to the clubhouse lead by carding seven birdies, however an untimely bogey on the difficult par-4 18th prevented them from playing a flawless round.

As play continued it looked as though the only other team that would join the early leaders would be the pairing of host professional Dave McNabb (Applebrook Golf Club) and his partner Chris Lawler. The team played a bogey-free round of golf en route to a team score of 6-under-par (65) and a first place tie. McNabb and Lawler played their opening nine holes in 4-under but were unable to duplicate the score on the inward nine.

With the exception of amateur Chris Lawler these two teams were the same teams that finished at the top of the leaderboard at the 2015 Pro-Scratch Championship. However, we would not have repeat champions at the 2016 event.

Playing in the tournament’s final pairing, the team of Shawn Hall (Radley Run Country Club) and his partner Stuart Carrihill caught lightening in a bottle over their final nine holes and edged out the teams at 6-under-par by one shot. Hall and Carrihill made the turn at 1-under-par but with a combined six team birdies the duo finished the day at 7-under-par (64) and claimed the top spot at this year’s tournament.

The Section would like to thank our partner for this event, National Car Rental. The next event on the Philadelphia PGA schedule is the Pro-Junior Championship at Spring Ford Country Club on Thursday, July 21.

Full Tournament Leaderboard