Hertzog Comes from Behind to Capture the 96th Philadelphia PGA Professional Championship

Tony Leodora Interviews 96th PPGA Champion Terry Hertzog

Mount Laurel, N.J. – September 21, 2016 – Terry Hertzog (Country Club of York), is the winner of the 96th Philadelphia PGA Professional Championship, at Laurel Creek Country Club. Hertzog will lead 13 Philadelphia PGA Professionals to compete in the 51st PGA Professional Championship, next June 17-20, 2018 at Bayonet Black Horse in Seaside, California.

Hertzog’s charge to the top of the leaderboard was slow and steady but in the end it proved to be the method best suited for him. Hertzog found red numbers on holes 5, 10 and 11 and after 36-hole leader Perla was unable to capture the magic from day two Hertzog quickly found himself in the mix for the Championship.

Other names tried to play their way into the top spot including a pair of past champions, Jordan Gibbs and Dave Quinn. Gibbs got to 2-under after 15 holes but a pair of bogeys on holes 16-17 dropped him from contention for a second consecutive title. Quinn also found himself at 2-under after 15 holes but similar to Gibbs, a bogey on the difficult 16th hole proved too much to overcome.

Although Hertzog trailed the leader by seven shots heading into the final round consistent play throughout the week, especially in today’s round ultimately vaulted him to the top of the leaderboard with a championship total of 2-under (210). Dave Quinn (Philmont Country Club) was the Championship’s runner-up, after carding a three day total of 1-under-par 211. They are joined by Jordan Gibbs (Gulph Mills Golf Club), Stu Ingraham (M Golf Range), Rich Steinmetz (Spring Ford Country Club), Tony Perla (LedgeRock Golf Club), Billy Stewart (The ACE Club), Brett Melton (Radley Run Country Club), Brendon Post (Univ. of Delaware), Alex Knoll (Riverton, N.J.), Mark Sheftic (Merion Golf Club), Rusty Harbold (Philadelphia Cricket Club), and Dave McNabb (Applebrook Golf Club).

The win was Hertzog’s third Philadelphia PGA Professional title becoming the tenth Philadelphia PGA Professional to accomplish the feat. George Smith (1929-30, 1932), Charles Schneider (1933, 1937, 1939), Henry Williams, Jr. (1949, 1953, 1958), Stan Dudas (1955, 1959, 1968), Art Wall, Jr. (1956, 1962-63, 1965, 1971), Dick Smith, Sr. (1974, 1977, 1981-83), Rick Osberg (1985, 1989, 1992), Brian Kelly (1995, 2000, 2005), and Rich Steinmetz (2007, 2010-11).

“It feels really amazing to get this win today”, commented Hertzog on his Championship. “I honestly didn’t think I had a chance heading into today but I wanted to put together a good round to qualify for the PGA Professional Championship next June. I played really well early in the day and that helped offset some blemishes late in the day. It’s a great feeling and I’m so thankful to the staff and membership at Laurel Creek for allowing us to use their facility the last few days.”

96th Philadelphia PGA Championship Leaderboard